2 min

Tags in this article

, , ,

Intel revealed additional technical data on its planned Arc A-Series array of graphics processing units (GPUs) for desktop computers on Thursday.

The Arc A-Series, also known as the Alchemist series, is Intel’s first independent GPU range for the desktop market.

Up until now, the organization exclusively delivered integrated graphics cards, which are embedded into a central processing unit and typically provide less performance than standalone GPUs.

The Arc series is part of Intel’s strategy to build a foothold in new segments of the semiconductor industry. The series will initially comprise four GPUs.

A flagship release

The A770 is the series’ flagship with 32 Xe processing cores. Every Xe core comprises 16 Vector Engines tailored to handle video games and creative apps. Each Vector Engine can perform eight computations simultaneously.

The A770’s 32 Xe cores are combined with a collection of specialized circuits. The chip has 512 XMX Engines, which include circuits designed to accelerate artificial intelligence (AI) algorithms. According to Intel, XMX Engines are intended to increase the performance of creative apps that combine AI elements.

What else is coming up?

The A770 will be released alongside a trio of Intel Arc graphics cards for desktop computers. The three chips have 8, 24 and 28 Xe Cores and 128 to 448 XMX Engines geared to run AI applications. Additionally, each chip has several ray tracing modules.

The specs for the Arc chip family were released just a few weeks after Intel introduced new GPUs for the datacenter industry. The Flex Series includes two processors at launch. According to Intel, the processors can be used to operate video processing programs, cloud-based video game streaming services, artificial intelligence software and virtual desktop environments.

Intel also intends to release a Falcon Shores family of chips that will combine GPUs and GPUs in the future.