Alert Center will inform administrators of sensitive and critical changes to configurations of Google Workspace.
Previously known as G Suite, Google Workspace has been upgraded to inform administrator of sensitive alterations to accounts. The new alerts are accessible to all Google Workspace users, including G-Suite Business and Basic customers.
Email notifications and alerts are allowed by default. “These additional intelligent alerts will closely monitor several sensitive actions, making it easier for admins to stay on top of high-risk changes to their environment and potentially malicious actions being taken by bad actors”, said Google.
“For each alert, admins and super admins will receive an email notification with key information regarding the event. Once the alert is received, admins can use the security investigation tool to further investigate the incident.”
Google started deploying the alerts to ‘Scheduled Release’ and ‘Rapid Release’ domains. Admins cannot shut off notifications entirely. Here’s what alerts notify of:
- Changes to primary admin
- Single Sign-on profile added
- Single Sign-on profile updated
- Single Sign-on [profile deleted
- Password reset
Earlier, Google secured Workspace users by deploying warning banners to notify customers of any suspicious file threats for phishing attacks and malware delivery. Google Workspace also features Drive Malware and Phishing Protection, which tags all shady files to ensure they’re visible to admins.