2 min

Tags in this article

, ,

NTT launches a new global data center division called Global Data Centers. The division bundles the companies e-shelter, Gyron, Netmagic, NTT Indonesia Nexcenter, RagingWire, as well as a number of other data center vendors previously operating under the NTT Communications brand.

The division has more than 160 data centers in more than 20 countries and regions. Ryuichi Matsuo, Executive Vice-President of the new division, says the convenience for customers is increasing. “With one partner for their global data center needs, it’s easier for customers to achieve their business goals. This is possible at a time when the cloud is growing enormously and there is an increasing demand for data center capacity. That’s why we’re grouping our global data center operations into a single entity that provides a complete set of data center solutions and services to meet customer demand.

Increased competitiveness

Courtney Munroe, Group Vice-President of Global Telecommunications Research at IDC, states that the launch of NTT’s new data center division will increase its competitiveness. The company has a strong presence in key urban areas around the world, and the new division should consolidate that presence. According to Munroe, the most important aspect is that NTT offers a unique combination of end-to-end capabilities, including networking and carrier-network connections, hybrid cloud capabilities and lifecycle management services.

Customers have access to a set of technology solutions (with data center and network infrastructure and applications) as well as lifecycle services (from consulting and fit-out services to management) and end-to-end managed services. NTT Ltd.’s global presence supports end-to-end solutions with the flexibility that customers can leverage to distribute their critical IT workloads across multiple locations.

The new division is headed by Ryuichi Matsuo and has four regions: The Americas, Asia/Pacific, EMEA, and India. In the EMEA region, NTT has locations in London, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Berlin, Munich, Vienna, Zurich, Madrid and Johannesburg.